.

Where's the Best Staycation in the Area?

We want to hear you ideas. Vote in our poll and add your reviews to the listing.

The Best of Patch: Readers' Choice contest this week highlights those local haunts we drive by often, but may have never visited. If you're like me, staycations are sometimes even more fun than vacations—they're usually cheaper by a lot and you never really know what's in your backyard.

So, we ask, where is the best staycation in the area? 

Here are some of our favorite places, but if we're leaving one off of the list, please let us know in the comments and we'll add it:

Voting in the poll below is open until 9 a.m. Friday. Because this poll is not scientific, it is not the sole consideration in choosing a winner. The winner will be determined by Shrewsbury Patch editor Jennifer Lucarelli, based on poll results, comments and reviews on Patch Places. Please vote only once per survey.

Complete rules can be found in the PDF attached to this article.

Barb Nahoumi May 07, 2012 at 11:47 AM
Please list the Hudson Historical Society Museum. We're open every Tuesday from 2-4pm. 43 Broad St., Hudson, Ma. st. 402, 4th floor. tel. 978-562-2130
Heather Gould May 07, 2012 at 01:01 PM
I found Sawyers bowladrome in Northboro. so fun. And antique lanes. small place behind CVS in Northboro
Layla777 May 07, 2012 at 02:02 PM
The New England Wild Flower Society's Garden in the Woods in Framingham is amazing. Longfellow's Wayside Inn Historic Site combined with the Wayside General Store is a nice combo.
Karen Lavoie May 07, 2012 at 02:09 PM
Tower Hill Botanic Garden in Boylston. Beautiful flowers,Twiggs Cafe
Nicole Lynch DeCruz May 07, 2012 at 02:15 PM
Here are some more kid-friendly places! *Tougas Family Farm, Northborough. Pick Your Own Fruit, great kitchen, fun playground and petting area *PYOP (Paint Your Own Pottery) Northborough. Fun with the kids or for a grownup Girls Night Out *Trombetta's Farm, Devo Dogs and Bob's Wooden Toys, Marlborough. Where else can you get year round mini-golf, great ice cream, hot dogs, and you can go shopping for plants, antiques or make your own wodden toys. *Mendon Drive-in, Mendon. First run movies, double features and a fun 50s style snack bar
Tracy May 07, 2012 at 04:06 PM
Mendon Drive In for sure!! Also, Davis Farmland in Berlin and Capron Park Zoo in Attleboro
Liz Nolan May 07, 2012 at 04:36 PM
Ecotarium in Worcester, Southwicks Zoo in Mendon, Mystic Aquarium or Seaport in CT, New England Air Museum in Windsor Locks, CT.
G Linden May 07, 2012 at 05:10 PM
In the summer you can rent a canoe at Hopkinton State Park, go for a hike and then take a dip in the life guarded swimming hole they have. It's right in Milford's backyard. A 20 minute drive away, you can hike at Purgatory Chasm. We were there last weekend. It is an adventure for the kids and has a nice playground too.
Laura Barsamian May 08, 2012 at 12:48 AM
Nicole, Thank you for mentioning Trombetta's Farm! Laura Barsamian (Trombetta)
MilfordMomof3 May 08, 2012 at 03:41 PM
Nobscot Boyscout reservation is great for a hike. Drumlin Farm is a hit with the kids. Wayside Inn and the little red schoolhouse. Franklin Park Zoo is our favorite zoo around with the gorilla exhibit.
Christopher Fields May 09, 2012 at 03:20 PM
for a more adult thing to do take a trip to The Pioneer Brewery at Hyland Farms on Arnold Street in Fiskdale MA. Brewery tours on Sundays (starts @ 2pm). went there a few months back, great beers great fun ! live music on weekends too...google them for more info !

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something